“Walk and Talk” meetings

By Franz Gurtner, 11. April 2018

“Sitting has become the smoking of our generation”– with this statement Nilofer Merchant advertises the new trend of “Walk and Talk” meetings, holding the view that people don’t have to sit each meeting out.

 

According to a topical study people spend sitting 9.3 hours a day on average – these are more hours than we spend sleeping (7.7 hours a day). Unfortunately, the human body is not made for prolonged sitting, which causes numerous health problems in everyday life. Ten percent of all cases of breast or bowel cancer, for example, are directly associated with a lack of exercise. Things are similar when it comes to heart attacks or late-onset diabetes.

 

Merchant recommends holding meetings and discussions in the open air now and then while taking a walk. This keeps people in shape, puts the brain in the right way, and lends wings to new ideas. Justified question: in how many meetings is it really necessary to take notes in writing? Merchant, too, has rearranged her day-to-day work life. She says she covers 30 to 50 kilometres per week in these “Walk and Talk” meetings.

 

In the enterprises Facebook, Apple and Twitter the “Walk and Talk”meetings have become a daily routine. In fact, a particular on-line campaign called everybodywalk.org (@everybodywalk) has emerged in the USA. Of course, it’s got its own app inviting Americans to take some more exercise (available for iOS and Android); a more humane approach, to be honest, than the “fat tax” scheme in Japan, where extra taxes are imposed on overweight employees.

 

TED talk by Nilofer Merchant in which she challenges people: “Have a meeting? Take a walk!”

 

(c) Foto (1) Walk & Talk Meeting: GettyImage/Liam Norris

(c) Foto (2): nilofermerchant

Nilofer Merchant

Teilen:
Share Button

Download:
Download PDF

Any Questions?

Register Newsletter

„Walk and Talk“-Meetings

Von Franz Gurtner, 11. April 2018

„Sitting has become the smoking of our generation“ – mit dieser Aussage wirbt Nilofer Merchant für den neuen Trend der „Walk and Talk“-Meetings. Dabei wird die These vertreten, dass der Mensch nicht jedes Meeting „aussitzen“ muss. 


Laut aktueller Studien sitzen Menschen durchschnittlich 9,3
Stunden pro Tag – das ist mehr als wir schlafen (7,7 Stunden täglich). Nur leider ist der menschliche Körper nicht fürs lange Sitzen gemacht und zahlreiche gesundheitliche Probleme sind die Folgen unseres Alltags. Zehn Prozent der Brust und Darmkrebsfälle etwa hängen direkt mit mangelnder Bewegung zusammen. Bei Herzinfarkt und Typ-2-Diabetes verhält es sich ähnlich. 


Nilofer Merchant empfiehlt, Sitzungen und Gespräche auch mal im Spazieren an der frischen Luft zu führen. Das hält fit, hilft dem Gehirn auf die Sprünge und beflügelt für neue Ideen. Berechtigte Frage: Bei wie vielen Meetings müssen wirklich Notizen per Hand gemacht werden? Auch Merchant selbst hat ihren Arbeitsalltag umgestellt und kommt durch die „Walk and Talk“-Meetings laut eigener Aussage auf 30 bis 50 Kilometer wöchentlich. 


In den Unternehmen Facebook, Apple und Twitter gehören die „Walk and Talk“-Meetings bereits zum Alltag, in den USA hat sich sogar eine eigene Online-Bewegung hierzu gebildet, namens everybodywalk.org (@everybodywalk). Mit eigener App natürlich, die Amerika auffordert, sich mehr zu bewegen (erhältlich für iOS und Android). Eine etwas humanere Herangehensweise im Vergleich zur „Fat-Tax“ in Japan, bei der übergewichtige Mitarbeiter extra Steuern zahlen müssen. 

 

Link zum TED-Vortrag von Nilofer Merchant, in dem sie auffordert: „Besprechung? Gehen Sie spazieren!“

 

(c) Foto (1) Walk & Talk Meeting: GettyImage/Liam Norris

(c) Foto (2): nilofermerchant

Nilofer Merchant

Botschafterin der „Walk and Talk“- Meetings

Teilen:
Share Button

Download:
Download PDF

Sie haben
Fragen?

Newsletter anmelden